Christmas in July

imageI have a present for every day in the month of July.  This will be the BEST July E.V.E.R!

Not only do I have a gift for every day, but every gift comes with a card – a card filled with words from a very special friend.

Four nights before I moved, I met with K for our last visit.  She came into the restaurant carrying a big brown basket and put it at the foot of the table beside my chair.  It was filled with a bunch of individually wrapped gifts and each card attached to the gifts had a date written on it.  She told me it was her turn to be my “not-so-secret friend” and she wanted me to have a gift to open everyday of the first month of my residency.  I was so utterly shocked an elated.  I think it is one of the most amazing and thoughtful gifts I have ever received.

I have been dreading the beginning of July for many months now.  It is scary to start residency, it is scary to start over in a new city, and it is scary to feel like you are doing it all alone.  But despite all of that, I have been given something to make me look forward to making it through the day and waking up again the next morning.  This July won’t be as bad as I thought it would be.  K is the best!

About crankygiraffe

I'm a woman... a wife, a mother, a daughter, a medical resident. I spend all my time doing the right thing... I can be cynical, grumpy, and emotional, but I keep it to myself most of the time. I need a place to let my insides out - anonymously. No judgement here!
This entry was posted in All Posts, Residency and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Christmas in July

  1. What a wonderful friend and great idea :-) I am so glad you have this friend in your life and the little surprises to look forward to!

  2. such a super friend with such a wonderful idea! treasure this friend there are not many true genuine thoughtful people around you are very lucky, have a great day and a hopefully easy month ^_^

  3. That is SO AMAZING! Wow! I hope it continues to brighten up this first month!

  4. C.C. says:

    What an amazing friend and gift! I’m sure it will make your first month easier :-)

  5. harveylisam says:

    Oh my God, that is so amazing! I’m really glad you ended up telling her about everything – it sounds like your friendship was 100% reciprocated. Good luck this month!!

  6. Dr. Mom says:

    What a beautiful gift!! I hope your first day (and night) are going well.

  7. Deborah says:

    What a clever and thoughtful gift. You have lots to adjust to this month, but K will make that transition a little easier, I predict. :-) Best wishes to you on this part of your journey.

  8. Pingback: My Plan for NaBloPoMo | The Cranky Giraffe

Comments make me less cranky... I like hearing what you think!

