New Shoes

I might have a lot of shoes…  All of which Husband packed before we moved.  There were a lot of “man” comments regarding the number of shoes I own during that packing endeavor.  Needless to say, if I even mutter a thought about buying a new pair of shoes, I can almost see smoke coming from his ears.

imageSo, what did I do a few days ago?

I bought a new pair of shoes.

Nope, I didn’t need a new pair of shoes, but I wanted them.  Plus, I was kind of sad and mopey about the move and everything – so I just bought them. When I got home, I stealthily carried the bag up to my closet and hid them behind my clothes for use at a future date.  I usually like to leave things in my closet for a while before wearing them so that when husband sees them for the first time and asks me, “are those new?,” I don’t have to completely lie when I reply with, “No, I’ve had them for a while.”

However, I really, really wanted to start wearing my shoes.  So when the day yesterday started off with us angry at each other, I figured it was as good a day as any for him to discover that I bought new shoes.  I guess he was too grumpy to notice my shoes yesterday, because even with A loudly proclaiming: “Mommy, are you wearing the new shoes you bought at the mall with the candy store?  Mommy, why did you buy new shoes when we went to the mall with the candy store?” He still didn’t say anything about my shoes.  I figured he must have noticed them but just didn’t want to talk about it.  Now that a full day of me wearing the shoes had gone by, I figured that I was definitely in the clear (Plus, they technically aren’t “new” anymore)

Today, while we were standing at the provincial registry to get our new driver’s licenses, I saw him looking somewhat quizzically at my feet.  I waited.  He looked up at me.

“Honey, are those new shoes?”
“Um, yeah… They’re newish…”
He was about to say something but then he stopped himself.   “Oh, they’re nice.”  And he smiled at me.

Very well played, Mr. Giraffe, very well played.

About crankygiraffe

I'm a woman... a wife, a mother, a daughter, a medical resident. I spend all my time doing the right thing... I can be cynical, grumpy, and emotional, but I keep it to myself most of the time. I need a place to let my insides out - anonymously. No judgement here!
This entry was posted in All Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Shoes

  1. Sarah says:

    This cracked me up. Love how he stopped himself and carefully chose his words. :)

    How are you feeling? Sorry about the long winded comment I left on your previous post.

    • Haha! Thanks! Don’t worry about it, I appreciated the comment, I just haven’t gotten around to replying to them yet :) I don’t like to reply from my phone, and that’s where I read most of them. Your advice was great… it made me smile :)

  2. Smart man, Mr. Giraffe. :-)

    Do what it takes to be happy and comfortable in your new space. :-)

  3. harveylisam says:

    Ha! Sneaky half-lies are how I roll. Hilarious.

    Also, nice move on husband’s part – let you have your shoes. It’s all about the little things, isn’t it?

  4. They look so smart, too! Are they Tom’s?

Comments make me less cranky... I like hearing what you think!

